TUMBLR ASK: No, without sex what is there left in a relationship that distinguishes it from a very close friendship?

Without sex, there is still romantic love, which I guess is difficult or even impossible to define, but is definitely something that is more than platonic friendship. It has a sex component in it, most definitely, but it’s not all about sex. It’s also about emotional connection, wanting to be with the person all the time, feeling gross type of feelings like insecurity and/or jealousy, etc.

Romantic love is the kind of thing that consumes you and makes you feel like your heart is going to burst. It makes you feel a little giddy, and a little crazy. Which isn’t something you feel often in friendship and is definitely not sexual either. It’s responsible for a whole lot of things other than what friendship can provide, although I strongly believe friendship is a part of romantic love as well.

I’m not trying to sell anyone the Hollywood definition/experience of love, and I don’t even believe in soulmates. But I do believe romantic love is about a lot more than friendship and sex, even if those two are important parts of a romantic relationship.

(On another note, my two anons should identify themselves to each other and have this debate, since they obviously have two completely opposing positions, and I’m the moderator. Unless this is actually one anon trolling me, then, well, I guess have fun?)

Leave a comment