Fiction; life

(This post was originally published on Jan 28, 2012 on my Tumblr, and I wanted it here as well.)

During my Social Psych of New Media lecture this week, one of my favourite lecturers reminded us where mobile phone companies got the design of the flip-phone: Star Trek. I was so pleasantly surprised, and then not at all, because the relationship between technology and science fiction has always been so delightfully dynamic. So many of us thought that by now we would have the flying cars fiction promised us.

It got me thinking about the relationship between art and life in general (and this is one of those pet topics my brain has refused to put down for years.) I love it. I love fiction, and I love life. Fiction reflects life, of course, but sometimes few realise that fiction alters life too. It enhances reality and it creates reality. We are inspired by our art, which is in turn inspired by two things: the world as it is, and the world as it could be.

I have felt for a long time that art is one of the best ways we can go about bridging that chasm between reality and fiction. It’s the first step. It’s the step that connects us, brings us together in our collective imagination.

So, the best art, the best work, is the kind that remains with us even after the curtain falls. It’s the kind that refuses to be ignored, so that we carry it with us, so that we negotiate it in our minds, and let it collect into our character.

For the longest time, I actually had no idea how to use a semicolon precisely. It was only in my recent media writing class that I realised this particular punctuation mark was used when two items are separate, but to indicate a connection between them. It means the sentences are interdependent.

So, there you go. Fiction; life.

Leave a Reply

