TUMBLR ASK: Yes, I believe men and women can have a purely platonic relationship. If not, every male you’re speaking t would be your boyfriend, which is absolutely ridiculous! We have so many friends, but only one boyfriend. So what about the other few who don’t lan din the “boyfriend” zone? They’re still friends, and yes, platonic friends. if he’s not your type, and you’re not his type, what’s not platonic about this?

No, I mean a close platonic relationship. Just because you speak to someone doesn’t make the person your friend. I speak to a ton of people at work, but I don’t consider all of them my friends, not to mention, my close friends.

People usually only become your close friends because you have things in common and great conversations, which are great bases for non-platonic relationships. This is the origin of the question – not the fact that women and men have conversations, but that they have conversations they enjoy.

This is always the question isn’t it. Harry believes men and women can never truly be friends because there’s always going to be sexual tension, and the guy always wants to sleep with the girl, but Sally believes this is ridiculous and that men and women can be friends.

Harry: What I’m saying is that men and women can’t be friends because the sex part always gets in the way.
Sally: That is not true! I have a number of men friends and there is no sex involved.
Harry: You only think you do.
Sally: You say I’m having sex with these men without my knowledge?
Harry: No, what I’m saying is they all want to have sex with you.

I am referring, of course, to When Harry Met Sally.

Leave a Reply

